Get Your Canned Pumpkin or There’s a Shortage of Pies

When my husband decided that he would like pumpkin pie for our Thanksgiving dessert, after all, we saddled up the F150 for a trip to the market – first to Whole Foods, to pick up some Soyatoo Whipped Topping (the closest vegan alternative to whipped cream, I still haven’t found/been able to create a good vegan homemade recipe yet, though I’ll be trying some), Ground Ginger, and Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin (canned) it turned into something of  a wild “goods” chase. 

This was yesterday evening, and we ended up driving all night to: Whole Foods, Fred Meyer, and Safeway before we were finally able to find it at Albertsons. But as if that wasn’t enough, they didn’t have the 12 oz cans, only the giant ones, so we had to buy those instead, and I will have to measure out 12 oz in my cheap-o plastic measuring cup, thus creating more dishes (good thing our apartment has a cheap-o dishwasher, not to mention how much easier they will be made to clean due to the burning from our cheap-o electric apartment stovetop). I was so excited at even finding the Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin I jumped up and down and shrieked a little bit (hey, we were tired, it was after 9 p.m. and we hadn’t had dinner yet). 

Every store we went to had the gross canned pumpkin, the pre-seasoned canned pumpkin in the fat cans, designed specifically for the I-want-to-act-like-I-can-bake-but-don’t-want-to-put-real-effort-into-it people, and right next to it an empty spot and label saying Libby’s was supposed to be there. I wondered if this was some kind of bizarre gourd conspiracy among bakers that I was completely naive to, that Libby’s is considered the best, and you’re a fool not to buy it at least two weeks before Thanksgiving, rather than a couple of days before. I never knew canned pumpkin could be such a big deal. With that, I leave you with an entertaining (or should I say “enlightening”) video.


Moral of the Story: If you’re going to make a pumpkin pie, decide early on and buy the canned pumpkin immediately before the evil flying pumpkin monkeys buy it all (or in case there is a pumpkin shortage due to bad crops, like this year)!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

