Take Me Away! A Sweet Escape!

Pocketful of Sunshine. I have been searching for this song before it was ever written. Granted, I am not what you would call today’s modern music enthusiast – my genres involve Classical, 80s, and 90s music. Anything after 2003 I pretty much lost interest. But this song by Natasha Bedingfield caught my listening ear, and at first, I chalked it off to a poppy hit, but the more places I went where I heard it, the more it grew on me, until finally, after hearing it during a showing of “The Ugly Truth” I gave in and decided to find out who sang it and what its title was. 

Not only is the song great for the physically active, but for those who aren’t – it makes one WANT to be. I feel like getting out my non-existant boxing gloves and punching the hell out of a punching bag, or kick-boxing, or going running in full-fledged running gear, and believe me, I am not the type to do any of those things! Fitness for me used to involve classical music and 500 crunches on the floor, as well as other “grace” exercises. Grace exercises are something I made up – a way to achieve grace and poise while burning some calories and making those skinny clothes look fabulous. 

The real reason I love it? Not only the catchiness of the chorus that stuck with me, but the lyrics. Something about getting away to a secret place, and not taking crud from anyone, with such a sunny happiness glowing through speaks to who I am. I’m pretty behind in discovering the hit, but I’m glad I discovered it at all! 

It’s incredible how music can immediately alter your mood, no matter how drastic, if you let the whimsy catch you…

A Pocketful Of Sunshine lyrics

I got a pocket, got a pocketful of sunshine. 
I got a love, and I know that it’s all mine. 
Oh. 

Do what you want, but you’re never gonna break me. 
Sticks and stones are never gonna shake me. 
No. 

Take me away: A secret place. 
A sweet escape: Take me away. 

Take me away to better days. 
Take me away: A higher place. 

I got a pocket, got a pocketful of sunshine. 
I got a love, and I know that it’s all mine. 
Oh. 

Do what you want, but you’re never gonna break me. 
Sticks and stones are never gonna shake me. 
No. 

I got a pocket, got a pocketful of sunshine. 
I got a love, and I know that it’s all mine. 
Oh. 

Wish that you could, but you ain’t gonna own me. 
Do anything you can to control me. 
Oh, no. 

Take me away: A secret place. 
A sweet escape: Take me away. 

Take me away to better days. 
Take me away: A higher place. 

There’s a place that I go, 
But nobody knows. 
Where the rivers flow, 
And I call it home. 

And there’s no more lies. 
In the darkness, there’s light. 
And nobody cries. 
There’s only butterflies. 

Take me away: A secret place. 
A sweet escape: Take me away. 

Take me away to better days. 
Take me away: A higher place. 

Take me away: A secret place. 
A sweet escape: Take me away. 

Take me away to better days. 
Take me away: A higher place. 

Take me away: A secret place. 
To better days take me away. 

Take me away to better days. 
Take me away: A higher place. 

The sun is on my side. 
Take me for a ride. 
I smile up to the sky. 
I know I’ll be all right. 

The sun is on my side. 
Take me for a ride. 
I smile up to the sky. 
I know I’ll be all right.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

